Be Green & Save Green!

Eco friendly finds for under $20!

Jet Dry July 7, 2009

Filed under: Home — Be Green & Save Green! @ 11:31 am
Tags: , , , , ,

I was talking with my very dear friend over at www.itsajaimething.com and we had a little green discussion about Jet-Dry.  It does what it is supposed to do, that is rinses your dishes “clean”.  But, is it safe? 

First thing I did this morning was research this popular product and asjet dry usual I started with the Jet-Dry MSDS sheet.  It doesn’t take long to read and please make your own conclusions about the information listed.

Personally I found it interesting that the handling precautions include wearing non-permeable gloves and goggles.  Really?!  Yes.  Do you put on safety gear when loading your dishwasher?  I would love to know how many of you think it’s strange that the manufacturer of a product that “cleans” the things we EAT off of, suggest that we actually wear gloves and goggles!  This is insane to me.  Let me say it again, gloves & goggles!  This stuff goes on our spoons, plates, glasses, forks, sippy cups, etc.  and then those things go into our mouths!  Are ya with me?!

Furthermore, I was a bit alarmed at two other things.  One, there is no “data/information available” regarding it’s eco-toxicity or aquatic toxicity.  But it does say, “Do not allow material to contaminate ground water system.”  Strange.  Two, it doesn’t say specifically if any of it’s contents are carcinogens or not.  The MSDS sheet simply says, “Not listed as carcinogenic by OSHA, NTP, or IARC.”  Interesting, but  I guess it is still better than had they said it is listed as a carcinogen. 

So, what are our options for a spot free rinse that won’t make us sick or burn our eyes or kill all the fish with our contaminated water, you ask?  I’ll give you one guess! 

VINEGAR

Simply pour white vinegar directly into the same opening you would use for Jet-Dry.  That’s it!  Not only can you get one gallon of white vinegar for under $3 but you are actually eliminating the spots with a natural sanitizer (free of chlorine)!  The vinegar over time will also get rid of any hard water build up in the dishwasher itself.  Gotta love it!  :D  Finally, your dishes won’t smell anymore.  Have you ever noticed the chemically (yes I just made up that word) smell on your plates and glasses?  It’s there.

 

15 Responses to “Jet Dry”

  1. Jaime Says:

    Great post, lady!!! That is interesting, indeed – and I didn’t wear gloves or goggles – oh, dear! lol Perhaps I should start using vinegar…yes, I have noticed that smell in my glasses…ew.

    Would you mind updating my link in your post to it’s new URL, http://www.itsajaimething.com – The other one is wrong, sorry about that. ;) Thank you!!!

    xo -Jaim

  2. Vannybean Says:

    Wow–I hadn’t realized that the warning labels were so “skull and crossbones.”
    I don’t use that product as I figured that anything that “dries” by it’s ingredients is a red flag. However, I will be using the tip of vinegar–THANKS!
    Heather Carlson of vannybean.com

  3. The best information i have found exactly here. Keep going Thank you

  4. LnddMiles Says:

    Great post! I’ll subscribe right now wth my feedreader software!

  5. Kathy B Says:

    If only someone would come up with a solution to water spots that wasn’t chemically produced and wasn’t made with wheat. Those people out there allergic to wheat might not know, but Vinegar is made from wheat.

  6. Ken Says:

    Sorry but pretty much all of the concerns in your article are based on assumptions rather than any actual science. Consider this. Chlorine is toxic and was used in chemical warfare prior to mustard gas (which incidentally also contains chlorine) but it’s used to clean drinking water and keep swimming pools clean. Ethanol is toxic to humans and yet most of us consume it on a semi-regular basis (it’s the alcohol we find in our alcoholic drinks). Look at the contents/ingredients of many shampoos, hair products, makeup, etc and you will find they are all pretty “skull and crossbones”. However, they are all deemed safe to use as the amounts we are exposed to are pretty low.

    I’m not saying we shouldn’t use safe or green alternatives but rather we should question what we read in blog entries such as this as they are heavily based on assumptions that are not necessarily backed by facts.

    Regarding the last comment re: Vinegar. White vinegar is produced from the oxidation of ethanol which can come from many sources. It is also greatly distilled such that if any wheat allergens existed, most if not all would have been removed. Pure vinegar is simply acetic acid in water. The association between vinegar and wheat and the potential allergens associated with it is again extremely uninformed.

    Please people, don’t believe everything you read, especially on the Internet.

    • While I do appreciate your very well written comment, it appears to me that you did not read my post entirely. In fact, here is a quote for you from my post: “It doesn’t take long to read and please make your own conclusions about the information listed.” (Re: the Jet Dry MSDS sheet.)

      This post was about my personal reaction as a consumer to the information available to me via the MSDS. I don’t pretend to be a scientist in any way but I did find some of the information a bit alarming.

      Furthermore, most everything is OK in “moderation”. Can you define moderation for me? And how moderate can our usage be, when a lot of the toxic ingredients are used in more than just one product most of us use *daily*.

      • djd Says:

        Personally I found it interesting that the vinegar MSDS says that you should wear gloves and safety glasses while handling it. Really?! Yes. Do you put on safety gear when dressing your salad? I would love to know how many people think it’s strange that the manufacturer of a product that “seasons” the things we EAT, suggest that we actually wear gloves and safety glasses! This is inane to me. Let me say it again, gloves & safety glasses! This stuff goes on our salads, pickles, soups, cole slaw, etc. and then those things go into our mouths!

        It also says “Do not put into sewer lines.” And there is “No information” on its environmental effect. How can they get away with that? It is well known that vinegar has high levels of hydronium ions, many times more than fish can survive.

  7. Ann Miller Says:

    I have more bad info on the JetDry stuff. I used those dishwasher tabs (with the jet dry ball in the center) while on vacation and it was convenient, so started using them when we got home from vacation. I started developing a rash on my body and it kept spreading. I made an apt with a dermotologist but in the mean time, my mother asked me if by chance I had changed my dishwasher detergent. I thought back to the timing of the rash and the changing of the detergent and it was a match but didn’t believe that their could be that much residue left on the dishes to ingest and cause a problem – WRONG! I went back to my regular liquid detergent and within a week the itching and rash disappeared. Now it alarms me that other people that don’t have the fortune of getting the rash are still ingesting the same crap and possibly causing other health issues that they don’t even realize. Why do you think so many people are getting cancers? The price we pay for convenience!!!!

  8. hwj Says:

    Hey Be Green and Save Green

    Don’t let the “science guys” discourage your efforts. These pseudo-intellects take an initial fact and run with it 60 degrees off kilter into the world of the ridiculous. Maybe they should pour a little of the Jet Dry on their salads. Your points are well taken–the stuff is just one more chemical that we do not need to ingest, period.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.